Persuasion

So, we’re back in Subject, after spending what feels like years in field. We were welcomed back with Persuasion.

The first thing we were asked to do was to think of an issue that we care about or have an interest in. We were then told to find an organisation/charity that works to help this issue. I immediately knew that I wanted to focus on men’s mental health issues because I’ve suffered from mental health issues myself and I know that there’s a lot of stigma surrounding it in our society, which doesn’t seem so evident for women’s mental health issues.

After doing some research, I came across CALM (Campaign Against Living Miserably).

10294988_10152221739059690_4690772060198083246_o

THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST LIVING MISERABLY, or CALM, is a registered charity, which exists to prevent male suicide in the UK.   In 2014, male suicide accounts for 76% of all suicides and is the single biggest cause of death in men under 45 in the UK.”

Once we found our organisations/charities, we then had to produce campaigns for them. We were told to contact our companies to get some feedback/a brief of what they’d want for a new campaign, but I never got around to it, so what I produced was up to me. Before we actually started making anything, we had to write ourselves a brief, outlining our organisation, the target audience and requirements for our campaign.

After this, I started brainstorming ideas. I struggled with this part a little bit; I was able to come up with a fair amount of ideas, but it took me quite a while to get something that I was happy with and that I thought worked well. Eventually, I came up with the idea of a conversation between two young men. One question with two responses; the commonly spoken response and the response that is only thought, not spoken. I was pretty happy with this idea because it addresses what I think is the biggest issue with men’s mental health, which is men not feeling as if they can actually say what’s wrong.

I took this idea forward and created a set of 3 different posters. Each poster is separated by having only 1 colour each. I have also written a different conversation for each and given them all the slogan “mental health stigma changes when you say what you’re thinking”. For all the posters, the dark grey text is the question, the coloured text is the spoken response and the light grey text is the unspoken response.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These posters were then applied to 4 outcomes: A3 posters, a bus stop advert, a headliner in a bus and an animated GIF for a website banner.Mockups2Mockups1

I’m very happy with these outcomes, I think the idea behind them works really and I think I’ve managed to display this idea in an appealing way. Although I am happy with this now, I’m curious what I’ll think of it at a later date because I think it is the idea that I’m happiest about, not the visuals.

Leave a Reply

